Sharing a meal together

I have to say, no matter what the terms, divorce is hard. I’ve struggled for the last 6 months and waver at the thought of getting through this period without my friends and boyfriend. So, thanks to all who have been in my life.

I recently came across an article on apartment therapy about communal meals and realized how much this has saved me. Due to the severe financial changes, I’ve cooked more in the last 6 months than in my entire life combined. The funny thing is, I crave it now and find myself mentally putting together a meal with what’s available in my kitchen and racing home to whip it together. It helps that there are always hungry mouths to feed too.

There’s something comforting about being surrounded by people, creating a meal and sharing it together. Often times, I have to make enough for my two boys, Bill, his son and perhaps the peppering of Liz’s kids. It brings comfort and stability to my boys to sit down at a table to inhale a home cooked meal. During my marriage, there was a lot of takeout and the boys would often eat before my ex and I did.

To this day, it’s rather difficult for me to sit at a table for family dinners. Whenever my parents, siblings and I would gather for a meal, it would be stomach turning. My father would find something to nag or insult me over, therefore leaving my appetite nonexistent and forcing me to leave the table. I have a natural instinct to flee whenever we gather for meals. It’s a muscle memory and it takes a lot for me to fight it.

However, I see the importance of sharing a meal together. My boys now enjoy the ritual of feasting and sharing their days at the table. Although I’m naturally a quiet person, Bill has taken the reigns and kept the dinner talk going with our kids. I really appreciate all that he does, especially the large mess I’ve created after producing the meal.

With money so tight lately, creativity kicks into overdrive. When my boys crave something from a restaurant, I will do what I can to recreate it on the cheap. Aldi has been a great resource for inexpensive food and it’s been nice to see my boys get excited for chicken or fish and green beans.

Did I just say green beans? My kids are eating vegetables that aren’t dipped in batter and fried to an artery clogging perfection? Well, if being poor gets my kids to eat well, I suppose I’ll take being poor.

2 thoughts on “Sharing a meal together

  1. You know you are always welcome at Casa peter for a family meal either in Il or Wi. In fact,Aldi’s just opened a new store in Pewaukee.

    Eating in Buenos Aires has been reduced to dining in since it has become too expensive to eat out. I cook at least twice a week for Sarah and her children, but no fish for them.

  2. growing up alomost never had anysorta restuaraunt food – everymeal was homecookedI can remember once we went out. Fridays was chinease starting around 5th grade or so. Nowadays, everymeal basically is fastfood of some sort or other .

Leave a Reply

